Pool Safety Inspections Tip #9: Leasing with a shared pool

Owners and property agents should note that the date that a lease or other accommodation agreement is entered into may be different from the day the agreement starts. For example, a lease may be signed on one day, but not start for another two weeks. In this case, it is only the date that the agreement is formed into that is relevant to the pool safety laws.

When entering into an accommodation agreement for a shared pool, the pool owner must either:

  • ensure a valid pool safety certificate is in effect before entering into or renewing a lease or other accommodation agreement. A copy  of the certificate must also be given to the tenant or occupier, except for short-term accommodation (e.g. hotels, motels and backpacker hostels) or
  • give a Form 36 to the pool owner (e.g. body corporate), the department and the tenant or occupier (except for short-term accommodation) before entering into a lease or other accommodation agreement.

For properties with shared pools (long-term accommodation), a special phase in period applies for leases or accommodation agreements entered into on or before 1 September 2012—in these cases the pool owner has until 30 November 2012 to obtain a pool safety certificate.

From 30 November 2012, if the property owner gives a Form 36 to the person entering into the accommodation agreement (shared pool) they must obtain a pool safety certificate within 90 days of entering the agreement.

If you have a shared pool at a property on the Gold Coast or Brisbane call Aegis Building Inspections to arrange a pool safety inspection.  We specialise in pool safety inspections and can issue you with a pool safety certificate on the spot.  If you have areas of your pool fence that aren’t compliant we offer simple, cost effective ways for you to repair your pool fence.  We also have instructional videos on pool fence repair and how to pass your pool safety inspection at the time that it is first inspected.

6 Comments

  1. Beau Kover on May 17, 2012 at 8:09 pm

    Pretty good post. I have truly enjoyed browsing your posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I’m hoping you write again very soon!

  2. Shane K on May 23, 2012 at 4:42 pm

    I am new to this site. I am always searching online for articles that can help me. Thank you

  3. Angie Hone on June 4, 2012 at 6:31 pm

    Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all of us. Its a great topic you are speaking about!

  4. Troy Belmore on June 8, 2012 at 5:18 am

    Nice post. I was checking this website and I’m impressed! I was looking for this particular info for a long time. Thanks and best of luck.

  5. Paul on June 9, 2012 at 2:35 am

    Great information! I’ve been looking for something like this for a while now. Thanks!

  6. Kate Green on June 16, 2012 at 10:45 am

    Hi. This information proved to be very useful. Can you please provide more aspects of shared property? Thanks.

Leave a Comment